top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelvin Chong Zhen Zhong

2016 - My Turning Point (Run + Hike)

2016 is considered a turning point for me. I expand my networking (friendship) by exploring new activity which is HIKING. In 2016, I did not stay in the house. I either go for a run or hike with a batch with friends. Hiking is a new activity and I want to explore more hills and mountains at that time. Hence I join various hiking activities organized by experienced people.

My hiking & running pictures in 2016


The turning point in May 2016 whereby I hurt my knee. I did not realize that I hurt my knee at that time. Then how do I found out? I find out when I run. The first time, I run 2 - 3km no issue, but when I run the longer distance I feel my right knee pain then I stop run. I thought it is just a normal pain or maybe my condition on that day wasn’t that great then I stop run just a few days. I get the same pain again when I resume running and I feel the pain is getting worst because it hurts me after 1km run. I feel it wasn't right and need a doctor's consultation. Then I came across a TCM medication to treat on sports injury and I seek consultation from the doctor.


I hurt my nerve around the knee. The doctor asks questions to try to find out the root cause then I realize that the pain was made when the time I hike Gunung Naung. It gives me a realization of the importance of warming up and take note of the form of running and hiking. I take time off about 2 months to heal my knee. At the same time, I read a lot of articles about knee related article and I also read a lot of running pose and the hiking pose. I take quite a long time to gain back my strength to hike and run. I also do a lot of experiments based on what I read online to find a comfortable solution for me when I run or hike. I also start to invest a lot of money on better quality of running shoes, hiking shoes, and some equipment. The knee pain changes my entire perceptive on running and hiking. Besides, it also the starting point for me to get better achievement in 2017 onwards. I will share achievements in my next post.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page